The Angel Hotel, set in the historical marketplace in the picturesque village of Lavenham in Suffolk, was first licensed in 1420 and is believed to be Lavenham's oldest inn.
Although much altered over the centuries, The Angel still retains much of its Tudor character. Around 1500, the gable ends were added and brick chimneys installed. The pargetting of the solar ceiling is from the early 17th century and in the 18th century the roof was raised, sash windows installed and the whole of the outside plastered over.
Restoration work was carried out in the 1950s and in 1990 the open plan ground floor was created. Recently purchased, renovated and refurbished by Marco Pierre White, the Angel Hotel is now an integral part of his Wheeler’s of St. James’s country inns and is one of the most stylish of all Suffolk hotels.